Day 2 of 30: Mimio Board integration

Each year I attempt to amp up my classroom instruction whether it be a new strategy, activity, or piece of technology. I have ran the gauntlet with a wiki, Edmodo, Turning Point, Remind 101, etc. etc.

However, this year I am going to attempt to integrate my Mimio. A mimio is a cheaper version of a Smart Board and came with a lot of templates and ideas. I came to this attempt because my new textbook (big shout out to Holt McDougal Literature – Grade 8) came with a ton of amazing SmartBoard lesson already done. Playing around with the files and doing some research, I learned my Mimio will open these SmartBoard files.

Now, I am challenged with not only using the tool, but mastering the usage of the tool in a classroom setting. My goal is to utilize the Mimio to do some of the “drop and drag” features which are going to be vital with the upcoming PARCC assessment. I plan using it daily for grammar activities and hopefully build on it from there.

The real winners in this endeavor will be my students!

 

Day 2

Write about one piece of technology that you would like to try this year, and why. You might also write about what you’re hoping to see out of this edtech integration.

About briancookeducator

Husband, Daddy, teacher, #Mountaineer, coach, and aspiring school leader | Thoughts are my own.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Please, feel free to leave feedback; I enjoy the interaction with my PLN.

