National Board Certified Teacher: Is it worth it?

Over the past few days I have procrastinated on reviewing for my comprehensive finals for my doctoral program (similar to many of my middle school students) and got to wondering what I will do after the doctoral program. Fortunately, the good Lord has a plan of keeping me in the classroom longer than I expected to “sharpen the saw” as Covey would say. Secretly wanting to a be a professional student for life, I have been looking into potential programs, certificates, and being an adjunct at the university level.

However, the daunting task which has sparked my interest the most is the requirements for becoming a National Board Certified Teacher. A handful of close friends and colleagues back home in West Virginia recently completed their certification and told me it was worth the challenge. They cited is calls for a lot of self-reflection on instructional practices and forces you to bring another person, preferably someone of veteran status, into your classroom to video which opens up many professional conversations.

Coincidentally, my Human Resources office sent an email about taking advantage of state funding for the process, but I was too deep in the doctorate program to consider the task. Nonetheless, here I am pondering the great question Is it worth it?

Financially, my district offers only a modest stipend for garnering the unique status and it requires a lot of work to keep the status.

Other possibilities:

  • Boise State University offers a handful of unique graduate certificates (Technology Integration, Online Teaching, and School Technology Coordination) which would ignite my passion for integrating technology into the classroom.
  • My hidden secret — I have always wanted to go into school counseling and University of Maryland Eastern Shore has a stellar program within driving distance to home. However, I believe it requires earning a Masters Degree which I am not sure I am willing to make that commitment.
  • A University colleague of mine has touted me about his experiences working with Quality Matters, “a leader in quality assurance for online education and has received national recognition for its peer-based approach to continuous improvement in online education and student learning.” The program offers opportunities to learn the proper frameworks to engaging online coursework and offers certifications towards being a creator of online courses in K-12 and at the university level.

PLN

Any suggestions on my options would be greatly appreciated.

 

About briancookeducator

Husband, Daddy, teacher, #Mountaineer, coach, and aspiring school leader | Thoughts are my own.
This entry was posted in Ed Leadership, Instruction, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please, feel free to leave feedback; I enjoy the interaction with my PLN.

