Literary Task Analysis

Nothing beats working with a team, but everyone’s team has its own unique characteristics and mine is no different.

Meet My Team

There is always the person who wants a snack whether its a coffee or any type of free pastry. Next, we have the super multitasker who can aimlessly not pay one bit of attention during the conversation (or though it seems) and spouts off the needed answer to get over whatever obstacle currently being tackled. Then we have the fearless leader watching over all tasks attempting to get the pastry chomper and multitasking space cadet on task.

However, each unique trait makes the group strong.

Literary Task Analysis

Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Career (PARCC) has been thinking in its think tank well over two years pumping out example test items. At the current rate, all the sample task will be available by my retirement year in 2039 (bazinga, as Sheldon Cooper might say). Since the great educational minds of the 21st Century see a need to build Common Core suspense, my colleagues and I decided to take a crack at crafting one of our own literary task analysis (sounds very official).

Nuts and Bolts 

Sample literary task analysis (which are being released as created, hence the gray hair) are being created with a unique A and B style of question. For instance, if I were to ask you the question, “Which statement best reflects the theme of the story?” I would give you four options regarding the theme. In the following question, a followup is asked relating to that question. For instance, it might ask “Which two details from the excerpt best supports the answer in Part A

Reality Check!!! Students who miss Part A are unlikely to experience success in Part B because they will be looking for the wrong type of support. This newly found knowledge raises the level of rigor in questioning with students. However, it level must be assessed similarly on a daily and weekly basis.

PARCC Scoring Break Down

  •  Answer both answers correct : receive two points
  • Answer both answer incorrect: receive no points
  • Answer Part A correct; Part B incorrect: receive one point
  • Answer Part B correct; Part A incorrect: receive mo points

Holistic Grading for Instruction

Handing out a 50 percent for missing of one of two questions is not fair to me, but I am still not sure how to transfer it into the grade book. Ideas are welcomed.

Literary Task Analysis

Unfortunately, I began using the Part A and Part B questions only recently. I slowly integrated it into my daily formative assessments. This data allowed me to know I need to go back and revisit understanding. However, the style of questions have jolted students’ minds.

During today’s assessment in this new format, my students struggled and grades were not as high as I would like them to be. However, I am going turning this assessment around so students can learn from their mistakes. Reflecting on answer choices and modeling the student’s thinking process allows me to see where I need to change to become a better teacher.

Share Out

Anyone else working on literary task analysis and wants to share resources, please, feel free to contact me.

About briancookeducator

Husband, Daddy, teacher, #Mountaineer, coach, and aspiring school leader | Thoughts are my own.
This entry was posted in Ed Leadership, Instruction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please, feel free to leave feedback; I enjoy the interaction with my PLN.

